Lemongrass scented charcoal soap

DIY

Here is the process of how I made my “Lemongrass scented charcoal soaps”.

They were so much fun to make and I am definitely making these soaps again πŸ˜€

So let’s get started! πŸ˜€

What you will need –

img_4752

  • Charcoal melt and pour soap base
  • Goat’s milk melt and pour soap base
  • Rubbing alcohol
  • Lemongrass essential oil
  • 1 big bowl and 1 small bowl
  • a soap mold
  • a whisk
  • parchment paper

How to prepare your soap mix –

  • Start off by cutting your soap base/bases into small pieces. This will help melt the soap base properly without leaving any lumps.

 

 

I used two kinds of soap bases. One was aΒ green tea extract and activated charcoal soap base, and the other one was a goat’s milk soap base.

FYI – Charcoal has the ability to absorb into the pores of the skin and draw out the dirt and oils that are blocking the pores. This soap base helps in reducing acne and other skin impurities. This soap base is produced from highest quality vegetable oils extracts, thus, creating luxurious lather.Β It is 100% vegetarian and it is free from preservatives and paraben.Β 

FYI –Β Goat Milk contains lactic acid that helps in removing dead skin cells. It is high in Vitamin A which is necessary to repair damaged skin tissues and maintain healthy and younger looking skin. With such great qualities, this soap base is a must have for every soap maker. This soap base is produced from highest quality vegetable oils extracts, thus, creating luxurious lather. It is 100% vegetarian and it is free from preservatives and paraben.Β 

  • Transfer the soap base into two separate bowls. I did this because I wanted to layer my soaps with the two soap bases to create appealing designs πŸ™‚

img_4789

Your workstation must be clean at all times. At this stage,before you melt the soap base, make sure you keep your whisk, essential oil/fragrance oil, rubbing alcohol and soap mold ready. Once the soap base is melted, you have to be quick otherwise, the soap base will harden and you won’t be able to make any layers or designs.Β 

  • You can now melt your soap base. There are two ways to do this – Use a double boiler OR a microwave. I put my soap base in the microwave for about a minute or two. Before I placed the bowl in the microwave I added 1 tbsp of water to the soap base. This will help melt your soap base better and it is easy to work with the melted soap base if it contains some water. After experimenting I realised the soap base hardens faster without any water added to it. This makes it difficult to make designs on your soap. So a small tip from me – make sure you add some water πŸ˜€

This is how the soap base looked after a minute in the microwaveΒ –

img_4803

So I put it back in the microwave for another minute and it completely melted without any lumps.

img_4808

  • This is when you add the essential oil or fragrance oil. I used lemongrass essential oil for this soap.

FYI –Β Lemongrass essential oil relaxes muscles and is an anti-depressant. It’s antibacterial, astringent and antiseptic properties prevent acne breakouts and soothe broken skin. It also helps in eliminating cellulite.

 

  • You can add up to 15 drops of essential oil to your soap base. I added about 15 drops. This will make my soaps smell amazing and the essential oil can do it’s magic on my soaps πŸ˜€
  • Whisk this up well so that the essential oil isn’t accumulated in random places.
  • Spray the mold/molds with rubbing alcohol. This will prevent the soap from sticking to the mold.
  • Pour the soap base into your mold and spray it with rubbing alcohol. The rubbing alcohol will eliminate any bubbles that formed on your soap.

img_4826

You can try whatever design you want to at this point. I decided to cut up some old pink and green soaps to line on two of my soap bases. This would give the black soaps some colour and I thought it would look pretty cool πŸ˜€

  • Time to melt the goat’s milk base! Add some water to the bowl containing small pieces of the soap base and put this in the microwave for a minute or two.
  • Add the essential oil to the base and whisk it well.
  • Layer this soap base over the charcoal soap base. This will create a nice black and white combination πŸ˜€

img_4851

  • I repeated this process of layering soap bases for the two soaps on the right side. I poured more charcoal base to the soaps in the middle and layered that with some goat’s milk base. I then took a toothpick and moved the soap base around a little bit. This resulted in one of the soap tops turning grey. I still liked how it turned out though! For the soaps on the left side, I just poured more charcoal base to cover the coloured soap pieces up. Someone lucky would get a surprise while taking a shower. Haha πŸ˜€

 

Now let these babies dry for a good 24 hours! πŸ˜€

Make sure you clean up your workspace and all the utensils you used to make soap. This gets a little messy but it would be best to wash the bowls immediately after you’ve finished making the soaps. The soap base sticking to the bowls takes a while to come off the sides. So hurry up and clean everything.

img_4864

Unmolding the soaps –

This was my favourite part of course! πŸ˜€

I Β lined my study table with two long sheets of parchment paper. Then I slowly removed each soap from the mold and placed it on the parchment paper. The soaps will not stick to the parchment paper so don’t worry πŸ™‚

Here is the final result of my lemongrass scented charcoal soaps!

 

Thank you for reading πŸ™‚ I do hope you found my post interesting! I’m going to keep making different kinds of soaps so do look forward to more soap DIYS πŸ˜€

Until next time guys ~

Leave a Reply

