Faber Castell Grip Watercolour Pencils – Review

Art, Uncategorized

Hello hello πŸ˜€
This is the new addition to my art supply. I got these watercolour pencils a few days back and I’ve been using them since. I’m really liking this product. It is a set of 24 gripped watercolour pencils. Let me show you why these are called ‘gripped’ watercolour pencils –

As you can see, these pencils have little silver dots on them. These dots are protruding and they help in gripping the pencil well. These pencils are triangular shaped and with the extra silver dots on them, it makes it easy to hold onto the pencil. Even if your hands get sweaty these tiny dots will help you hold onto the pencil as you colour.

Unboxing –

This box comes with 24 gripped watercolour pencils, a brush and a guide. The guide explains how to use these watercolourΒ pencils and the different effects you can do with them. I know what you’re thinking – “it’s quite self-explanatory. Everyone knows how to use colour pencils.” Let me stop you right there. These are watercolour pencils. They can either be used as colour pencils or you can use them as watercolour paints. The guide teaches you the method and technique of how to put these watercolour pencils to their best use.

Compare –

Β Staedtler Luna Watercolour pencils 48 shades –

This is my favourite set of watercolour pencils. I absolutely love these watercolour pencils! They have such a wide range of shades of each colour and the pencils are very smooth. The tip doesn’t break off easily either, which is great because this product is expensive. It retails for Rs.1,349 on Amazon.Β 

The best part about his product is that it has a wide range of colours. Very smooth while colouring and the lid doesn’t break easily. Staedtler is a great company! My paint brushes and paints are also from the same company and I’m really enjoying their products.

Personally, for me, there isn’t anything bad to point out. Yes, some people may find that it’s a bit too expensive but come on people. Staedtler is a great company and this set has 48 shades. Not 10, not 30 but 48 shades. I think for a one time purchase it’s a great idea. I, unfortunately, don’t have this set anymore. I gave it to my sisters and ~poof~ Β it vanished. I was devastated but I plan on buying this watercolour set again πŸ˜€
I would recommend this to anyone who loves watercolour pencils but also to anyone who is scared of ruining their sketches with paints, just like I am. This is probably for someone who is great at art or serious about it. It’s a little more professional. Honestly, this is a great gift item as well. I totally recommend these watercolour pencils! πŸ˜€

Faber-Castell Colour Grip Watercolour Pencils 24 Set –Β 

optimized-169672-l-1460377399

I really like these watercolour pencils. They are dark and smooth and the grip just makes the pencils look fancy AF πŸ˜€
I’ve always liked art. Little details like the grip in this product make my collection look very appealing. The watercolour pencils just look so good you guys! I can not get over it haha!

The good thing about this watercolour set is that is isn’t expensive. This product retails for Rs.700 on most websites. BUT there is a HUGE sale going on, on Amazon! I bought my watercolour set for only 350 Rupees! πŸ˜€ Β You can get yours for the same price or maybe even lesser! Go check out Amazon! πŸ˜€Β 

Again, I don’t have anything bad to say about this watercolour set. The only disappointing factor would be that UGLY BRUSH they give you with the set. Mine looks like a dog played with it. It really does. Half the hair on the brush has fallen off. But I’m not REALLY complaining because I wasn’t planning on using that brush anyway πŸ˜›

So all in all, this is a good buy. It isn’t expensive and anyone can buy this. It’s a basic set with all the necessary colours you’ll need. You won’t feel burdened while using these because they aren’t as expensive as the Staedtler watercolours and there are only 24 shades so you won’t have to contemplate on which shade of a colour to use! Also for anyone who just wants to experiment with watercolours, this is the product for you πŸ˜€

Alright, so that concludes my review. I hope you found it helpful and you might buy this watercolour pencil set for yourself or someone else~ πŸ˜€

Here are some pictures of me testing out the watercolour pencils! πŸ˜€

img_5262b

Used as colour pencil

img_5264a

Used as watercolour paint

img_5266b

Used as colour pencilΒ 

img_5270a

Used as watercolour paint

img_5271b

Used as colour pencil

img_5274a

Used as watercolour paint

FINAL –Β 

Leave a Reply

