My experience with Coursera

Blog

Hello readers πŸ™‚
Today I’d like to talk to you about my experience with Coursera and how it has helped me. If you’re interested then keep on reading πŸ™‚

  1. Β What is “Coursera”?

Coursera, pronounced as Course-Era, is an online website that has an extensive variety of educational courses that you can learn and earn a certificate after completing the course. These certificates can be extremely helpful when –

  1. Β  When applying to a top university.
  2. Β When applying for a job in a good company.
  3. When you want to learn something new that might help you with your studies/Job.

Coursera claims to have a total of 1,600 educational courses. These courses are categorised into 10 categories. These are –

  1. Arts and Humanities
  2. Business
  3. Computer Science
  4. Data Science
  5. Life Sciences
  6. Math and Logic
  7. Personal Development
  8. Physical Science and Engineering
  9. Social Sciences
  10. Language Learning

I mainly focus on courses under Social Sciences, Language learning and Arts and Humanities. I have tried 4 courses till date. These are the courses I have tried – First Step Korean, Learn to Speak Korean 1, English Composition 1 and Grammar and Punctuation.Β 

What I’ve noticed is, I’m super excited the first week and I complete all my assignments. During the second week, I start to get distracted and this results in me submitting the assignments late. By the third week, I’m super busy with completing assignments for university and making soaps for my small home business. I don’t even log onto CourseraΒ in the 4th week because I feel like finishing the course is just too much for me right now because of all the other work I have. For someone like me, Coursera offers you the option to take the course for FREE and you get to view all the files shown by the tutor. The only disadvantage is that you don’t get a certificate. Which is absolutely fine because you haven’tΒ paid for the course and there is a chance you might not be able to keep up with the assignments because…LIFE xD

I feel that Coursera can be very helpful to anyone. You can learn something for free, you can learn something that will improve you as a person and help you with yourΒ career. These certificates are worth the money you paid for the course because they are valid degrees. You can show your certificate at your interview to join a university or at your job interview. These might just help you get into your dream university or get theΒ job you’ve worked so hard for! πŸ˜€

I will definitely finish at least 2 courses this year. That’s going to be one of my goals for 2017 πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

