The MicaMania Soap Competition April 2017

Blog

Hello friends and family πŸ˜€
I have some EXCITING life updates! If you are already following me on Facebook and Instagram, you probably know what I’m going to talk about. This post is mainly for my awesome readers and followers πŸ™‚Β 

It’s been 8 months since I started making soaps. I started making Cold Processed Soaps only about 5 months back so I haven’t had the opportunity to mingle with other soap makers and take part in competitions. Last month (April 2017), I not only made friends with other soap makers, but I also took part in my first soap making competition. The MicaMania competition was held by Suffuse and the theme was FLOWER POWER. Since it was my first time, I was quite nervous and I really wanted to do a good job. I sketched a lot of different soap ideas but I still hadn’t found THE ONE. About a week before the deadline, a friend of mine from South Korea sent me pictures of the Cherry blossom flowers in full bloom. I have never seen the Cherry Blossom tree and it’s flowers before so I was intrigued. They are so beautifulΒ and just another reason I can’t wait to visit South Korea! Let me show you some beautiful pictures of the Cherry Blossoms in South Korea –

Beautiful and picturesque ❀

The Cherry Blossoms are my inspiration for my soapy creation. Here is my soap –

Name – Japanese Cherry Blossom

Cold Process Soap. Made with saponified oils, lye, distilled water, mica, titanium dioxide and fragrance oil.

What do you think? Do you like myΒ soapy creation? πŸ˜€
In case you’re wondering, I came in second place in the MicaMania Soap making competition. I’m so happy and thankful for all the votes I received from family, friends and other soap makers πŸ™‚

The prize for second place –

  • 3 10 gramΒ packs of Mica
  • 1 6 cavity rectangle soap mold
  • 2 butters – 100 gramsΒ of Mango and 50 grams of Kokum butter

IMG_9429

Thanks for reading my post!
See you in the next one πŸ˜€

 

3 thoughts on “The MicaMania Soap Competition April 2017

Leave a Reply

